Dan Lyons Ducks Basic Questions

Just got a reply (or two) from Dan Lyons to my email. He didn’t say much. The first was just asking which article I was referring to, and the second just said he’d found it and deleted it. So I sent a quick, brief reply to thank him (for letting me know and/or deleting it).

Oh.

Is that all?

Referring to my own email:-

Would I be right in guessing that you’ll claim “fair use”? If so, how would copying almost my entire comment constitute fair use? Or will you remove your copy of my comment from your blog?

He didn’t claim fair use; but he didn’t deny that I’d guessed right, either. He did delete the article in question, though.

As for those other questions I asked:-

While we’re at it, I was also wondering why the most recent few articles have disappeared from your blog.

No answer.

Oh, and why, in your “SCO Vs. Blogger” Forbes.com article, did the “person close to the matter, who spoke on condition of anonymity”, speak “on condition of anonymity”? Why (I might cheekily ask, in reference to the ‘who is PJ?’ nonsense,) do they need to keep their real identity hidden? Did they contact you, or did you contact them?

No answers.

Of course, it could simply be that he just isn’t bothering. He may have decided that he’s got better things to do with his time. Such as eating Easter Eggs.

But if I were to get all speculative about it, I could speculate that he’s got something to hide. I mean, why did he not even answer the simple question, “Did they contact you, or did you contact them?”? It’s a simple enough question, and easy enough to answer with only a few words, but he didn’t even do that. Why? What’s the problem?

Of course, such speculation would be silly. Occam’s Razor says he most probably just didn’t bother to answer my questions. After all, who am I? Just some random, upstart blogger from Groklaw. Why would he waste his time answering such questions from me?

Talking of not answering questions, here’s something from a recent article of his, called “Shoot the messenger”:-

Hilarious stuff on Groklaw today. A reader writes in to ask PJ directly if she actually took money from OSDL … Then PJ responds with her own comment in which she doesn’t answer the question but tries to make the whole thing about me.

And earlier, in an article entitled, “Watch Richard Stallman duck and weave”, he says, of Stallman, “He’s almost incapable of giving a straight answer to a straight question.”

So, measuring by his own rod, Dan Lyons actually was ducking my questions?!?

🙂

Leave a Reply

